Join US
Partner with us

2018 Christophe Mérieux Prize goes to Zika virus researcher, Patricia Brasil

May 30, 2018 | Paris (France)

The Fondation Christophe et Rodolphe Mérieux of the Institut de France awarded the 2018 Christophe Mérieux Prize to Dr. Patricia Brasil of the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil for her research on pregnant women infected with the Zika virus and neonatal complications.

Dr. Patricia Brasil is a researcher and professor of Tropical Medicine and Clinical Research in graduate and postgraduate programs at the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz) where she created the Febrile Disease Research Clinic at the Evandro Chagas Institute of Clinical Research (IPEC).

Previously, Patricia Brasil practiced medicine at the São Sebastião hospital (Rio de Janeiro), a reference hospital for infectious diseases.

Driven by an interest in public service to address the public health challenges facing her country, her career has focused on both scientific research and clinical practice.

She received a doctorate in science from Fiocruz for her work on the diagnosis of microsporidia in people living with HIV. This followed biology research initiated as part of a Brazil-France cooperation program in the field of AIDS. Through the program, she received training in the diagnosis of AIDS-related opportunistic parasitic and mycological diseases at the Parasitology-Mycology laboratory of Saint-Louis Hospital in Paris.

At the beginning of her career, during her residency in infectious diseases at the Dos Servidores do Estado hospital in Rio de Janeiro, Patricia Brasil treated Yanomami suffering from malaria in the Amazon.

About the Christophe Mérieux Prize

Every year since 2007, the Fondation Christophe et Rodolphe Mérieux has awarded the 500,000 € Christophe Mérieux Prize to a researcher or team of researchers studying infectious disease in developing countries. The Institut de France selects the winner from a list of scientists impacting the field proposed by the Mérieux Foundation.

Learn more about the Fondation Christophe et Rodolphe Mérieux
Learn more about the Christophe Mérieux Prize
Learn more about the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz)

Top of Page